Salt Marsh Publications is an independent publishing house with twelve current titles.   We specialize in historical fiction, mystery and children's books.   We also provide editing, ghost writing, re-writing and illustration services and consult on self-publishing.

Our seven novels--six historical fiction and a mystery--are designed for late teen and adult readers.  The historical novels, Defending Hillsborough and Reconstructing Hillsborough,  have been selected by the North Carolina Public Schools' Department of Public Instruction as appropriate for secondary school resource reading on the Civil War.

Defending Hillsborough  covers the antebellum period  in Hillsborough, North Carolina, through Sherman's invasion at the end of the American Civil War.   Reconstructing Hillsborough begins with the peace talks and continues through the first years of the Reconstruction period.  Both novels are written from the home front perspective.  The stories are based on real characters and events. 

Lorinda's Legacy, a mystery, is based on an actual murder and the ensuing trial, although the events have been fictionalized.  The story is set in two locations--eastern North Carolina and Gainesville, Florida--and in two time periods--1918 to the present.  Part I tells the tragic events surrounding  the first Lorinda, while Part II tells the story of her granddaughter, the second Lorinda, and her attempt to find the grandmother for whom she was named. 

Florida Shadows  is an historical novel set in Southwest Florida in 1918.  The story follows a young woman who--in an attempt to escape her tragic past--arrives in Fort Ogden, Florida, to start a new life. In her new home, Delia Delaney learns to appreciate Florida's unique flora and fauna--while living through the tragic Spanish Flu epidemic and World War I. The novel follows the completion of the railroad from Arcadia to Boca Grande and the construction of the fashionable Gasparilla Inn in Boca Grande.

Florida Secrets is set in both Southwest Florida and the northern Florida city of Ocala--where Delia and her son must flee to protect them from one who is determined--despite the consequences--to keep the past alive.  During their exile, however, both Delia and her son discover the family they have both been seeking and return at last to the tranquility of their own "Peace River" home.

Florida Sunset is set in Venice, Florida, in 1925--when Boston lawyer, Jeremy Worthington, offers Rev. Adam Wilson a chance to relocate to the new town being designed by his client, city planner John Nolen.  Adam falls in love with Dr. Fred Albee's vision for the town and moves his wife Delia and their family there to start a church.  As the family moves to town, Delia's childhood sweetheart, Tom--newly released from prison--also arrives to find a job.  While offshore, the Cuban pirate, Romero, who had faked his death, anchors his "rum boat" and swears revenge on Delia and Tom, the only ones who can identify him.  The new town abounds with beauty--and danger--both natural and man-made.

Surviving Sarasota is set in Southwest Florida in 1851 and tells the story of the first settlers in both Manatee Village and in William and Mary Jane Whitaker's home at Yellow Bluffs on Sarasota Bay.  Having allowed the feared Seminole Chief Billy Bowlegs to recover from a bout of malaria behind her family's home, Mary Jane gains instant fame--and a new friend--in Manatee Village.  This friendship with the Seminole chief continues when Mary Jane marries William Whitaker and moves to his home on Sarasota Bay--ending abruptly when Bowlegs and his men begin the Third Seminole War and the settlers all move to a sanitarium grounds while the Seminoles loot and burn homesteads from Manatee Village to Fort Myers.  Shortly after the Seminoles are moved to Oklahoma, the advent of the Civil War brings new woes to the citizens when the Union sends gunboats to patrol the waters surrounding the state and cut off all attempts to gain supplies for the citizens.

The Little Green Monkey Stories are a collection of five picture books for three to eight year olds.  Each tells a story of Little Green Monkey, his family, and friends, and each one teaches a childhood lesson.

Alone, a poetry collection, contains poems and photos on a range of subjects.



Telephone and Fax


Postal Address

     163 Grand Oak Circle, Venice, FL 34292-2434

Electronic Mail Addresses

     General Information:

     Customer Support Web Master::



Hit Counter





03/18/14 05:11 PM

Copyright2007 Salt Marsh Publications.  All rights reserved